Mortal Kombat 1: How To Unlock Fatalities

Fatalities are attacking moves with which you end a fight in style. Read this guide to learn how to unlock all Fatalities!

MK1 cover image
How To Unlock Fatalities in Mortal Kombat 1

To Unlock Fatalities in Mortal Kombat 1, players must progress through the campaign part and complete several tasks. Fatalities are the main feature of the Mortal Kombat series, as you get to dominate your opponent with stylish finishers. 

Key Takeaways

  • The first Fatality for each character is unlocked from the start.
  • To unlock the Second Fatality in Mortal Kombat 1, players need to upgrade their character to Mastery Level 14.
  • Second Fatality can be practiced regardless of the level if you know the key combination.
  • Some essential ways to level up your hero are progressing in Story Mode and exploring other game modes, especially Invasion Mode.

Unlock Requirement Different Approaches To Unlock Fatalities
Mastery Level 14
  • Playing Story Mode
  • Rank Up Mastery
  • Invasion Mode

There are multiple ways to unlock Fatalities for each character and Kameo fighter in Mortal Kombat 1. Note that each hero has access to one Fatality from scratch. Learning this move comes by knowing the button combination for attempting to hit it.

To unlock the second Fatality in Mortal Kombat 1, players must take their hero to Mastery Level 14. This can be a hassle; you must grind for hours before reaching this mark.

Play Story Mode

To unlock fatalities in Mortal Kombat 1, players can progress through the Story Mode and complete several tasks. Players may take roughly five to six hours for campaign completion.

As you reach the end of the fight and survive, your opponent’s health bar will strike zero. At this instant, if you maintain significant distance and timing, you can end the fight by hitting the Fatality move.

how scorpion fatality looks like in mortal kombat 1
Scorpion Fatality Animation – Image Credits: Gamesual

Increase Mastery Level

Every character you play with has their own Mastery Level. It will increase as you gain XP by exploring multiple game modes. To unlock fatalities in Mortal Kombat 1, you must play a lot with the character of your choice and take it to Rank 14

Other than fatality, players can unlock other rewards at different Mastery Levels, such as skins and gear items. This makes your character more customizable for fights.

One thing that I noticed is that you can perform Fatality with your character before it reaches Mastery Level 14, but Mortal Kombat 1 will not display the button combination you must use to hit it. Therefore, you need assistance from external sources.

Explore Invasion Mode

to unlock fatalities in mortal kombat 1, play invasion mode
Mortal Kombat 1 Scorpion Gameplay – Image Credits: Gamesual

Invasion is a new game mode introduced in Mortal Kombat 1. It involves one-on-one fights you have with other characters at different venues. The more you play and win, the more XP you get to improve your Mastery Level. 

The progress in Invasion Mode is tracked through a Map that takes you through different cities where the fights are held. Moreover, you can change your character to have a new experience. 

To unlock Fatalities in Mortal Kombat 1, you can involve yourself in a maximum number of fights. This will level up the character you are fighting with, further unlocking fatalities.

By unlocking Fatalities, I mean players can access the button combination when it’s time to end the fight in style.

That is all about unlocking fatalities in Mortal Kombat 1. We hope that you were able to grind XP for each character to learn what their second Fatality can do. 

For more Mortal Kombat 1 guides, check out:

Was this helpful? 🎮

Good job! Please give your positive feedback ☺️

How could we improve this post? Please Help us. 🤔